Company Christmas and Five-Year Anniversary Party

This past Friday I planned the MMA Design Christmas and Five-Year Anniversary Party, which we held at the Greenbriar Inn in Boulder. We had our party in the Sunroom area of the restaurant, which was the perfect size for 25 people to mingle with hors d’oeuvres before sitting down all at a long table for dinner. It was also the perfect setting for a Christmas party as all of the trees outside of the windows were lit with white lights, and we had our own Christmas tree at one end of the room which marked the head of the table.

The normal sunroom layout.

We started with three appetizers: shrimp cocktail served in a HUGE clam shell along with fresh cocktail sauce and lemons, an artisan cheese display with crackers, apricots and nuts, and artichoke cheese dip with pita bread and vegetables. We also had an open bar, complete with two white and two red wines, my favorite being the Estancia Reserve Pinot Noir.

20121214_180637

After about an hour and 15 minutes of mingling with drinks, we all sat down and ordered our main course. I ordered the filet of beef, while about half of the guests were adventurous and ordered the Blackbuck Antelope. A few also ordered the chicken breast, vegetarian raviolis, or the prawn fettuccine. After all of our Caesar salads were finished (which, I might add, had soggy lettuce leaves because they put the dressing on much too early), we all received our main course and I took probably the most amazing first bite of steak I’ve had in a very, very long time. The steak was huge and ridiculously thick (which, of course, still manages to shock me after living the land of millimeter-thin steaks in the UK), and cooked to perfection at medium rare. If you like your steak more well done, you would have been out of luck because the waitstaff did not even ask how you wanted it cooked, but that point is moot for me because I’m a believer of eating steak at medium rare anyway 🙂

20121214_192448Sunroom at Christmas with long table for 25. Apologize for the bad quality photo, I was using my phone in a dark room!

After we were all finished, we had speeches, awards, and a gift exchange in which a dog toy was the most sought-after trade…and last but definitely not least, we had the dessert buffet, which I forgot to take a picture of because I was about 3 glasses of wine in. We had chocolate mousse layer cake, chocolate truffles, tiramisu, chocolate dipped strawberries, and cheesecake. Let’s just say that almost all of the desserts were gone in five minutes and I had about 15 people come up to me and tell me how amazing of a job I did at picking out the desserts. Thank you! And I had to agree 🙂

It turned out to really be an amazing party, with nearly everyone staying until the very end of 11 pm (open bar probably helped that). I would absolutely recommend the Greenbriar for your company holiday party as the food was truly outstanding and the service on the night was great as well.

Leave a Reply

