English National Ballet at St. Paul’s Cathedral – City of London Festival

This past Tuesday night the English National Ballet performed at St. Paul’s Cathedral for the City of London Festival. The City is what the locals call the financial district and the main old part of London, which is obviously where St. Paul’s is located because it was built in 1675. Its architect was Sir Christopher Wren, who designed pretty much every cool iconic building in this city.

I have to admit, I have never been to a ballet. And yet I’ve always wanted to go, so it’s kind of shocking actually that I’ve never been. Anyway, I saw a photo in the daily free London newspaper called the Evening Standard of some ballerinas promoting this event to commuters on the Millennium Bridge, and immediately decided I had to go. Now I don’t really see the point of going to see an amazing event in an amazing venue and not being able to see any of the dancers, so we got tickets eight rows from the front!

I can’t stress enough how cool it was. The venue of St. Paul’s Cathedral alone made it absolutely spectacular, and the ballet was superb. I’ve never seen dancers this excellent, even from ballets I’ve seen on TV or film. The way they moved their arms was so graceful and seeing it live, in person, made it real. And the live music from the English National Ballet Orchestra and the City Chamber Choir was truly unbelievable. The acoustics of the string instruments and live choir in the building, sights of the ballet dancers and the backdrop of ornate decor of the interior of the cathedral made it seem like we were sitting in 1600’s London. And it was divine.

Now you’re not supposed to take any photos inside the cathedral of course, which is why I haven’t posted many here. But I jumped on the bandwagon towards the end as everyone else was doing it, so I got a few. But they don’t do it any justice whatsoever, you must experience an event like this in St. Paul’s for yourself.  I can’t stress enough how truly stunning it was.


Below, the crowd filing out after the performance.

2 thoughts on “English National Ballet at St. Paul’s Cathedral – City of London Festival

  1. If you want to hear more of City Chamber Choir, there’s a concert at 7.30 pm
    on Tuesday 10 July 2012 at The Dutch Church, Austin Friars, London EC2N 2HA.

Leave a Reply

