My Mom’s Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is my mom. And Simarron the dog. Yes, with an S.

This is Simarron upside-down.

On a related note, my mom makes the absolute best chocolate chip cookies. Or so I’m told. I personally don’t like them because I don’t like any chocolate chip cookies. I know, I know, what kind of mutant are you. I’m not really a cookie person for some reason, but everyone else in the entire world besides me and my sister LOVE these cookies. If you set these out at a party, they will be gone in three milliseconds, which I can vouch for as I’ve seen it happen. Anyway, my mom has perfected this recipe over what must be at least 10 years. It has some non-traditional ingredients (like Country Crock…), which makes this recipe what it is. Just perfect.

Ingredients: Makes 18 cookies

1/3 cup shortening

1/3 cup Country Crock margarine

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/8 cup finely diced walnuts (optional, but mom says they give it great texture and flavor)

3/4 cup 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F. Put shortening, margarine, white and brown sugars, vanilla extract and egg in a medium bowl and stir until combined.

Add salt, baking soda, and flour. Stir until a squishy dough forms.

Add walnuts and chocolate chips and fold in until combined.

On an un-greased baking sheet, place heaping tablespoons of dough about 2 inches apart or about 12 to a tray.

Bake for 11 minutes until light golden brown. Let cool for two minutes of the tray, then remove to a cooling rack.

Eat immediately for ooey gooey chocolatey chips or let cool completely for more set-up chips. Totes amaze! (<–yay for P’Trique!)

Leave a Reply

