Truffle Twice-Baked Potatoes. To die for.

On my quest to satisfy my serious neglect of American food while in London, I knew I HAD to make a baked potato (called a jacket potato in the UK). Every time I go to a nice steak restaurant, I always always always order a baked potato as a side to my steak and salad. It’s just something that I love and I have to have. So I came up with this twice-baked loveliness that involves something very scrumtralescent…the truffle. I really discovered the taste of truffle for the first time in London while I was experimenting with upping the ante on a traditional baked potato with the find of white truffle oil (not black truffles…totally different taste). Since Italy, where the white truffle comes from, is a lot closer to England than to the US, it was a lot easier to find it on menus and in shops. But trust me, searching for it here is worth the effort. I found some in the local grocery store tucked away in a tiny corner of the specialty foods aisle.

I also made this for both Thanksgivings I’ve spent in the UK to accompany the traditional turkey and other veg, making it more than just a side to a steak. And everyone loved them.

Ingredients: Serves 4

4 super large Idaho or Russet potatoes. In the UK I use the Maris Piper variety of baking potato with equal success

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon sea salt

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup heavy cream (aka double cream)

3 tablespoons fresh chives, finely sliced

1 tablespoon white truffle oil

3/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 stick unsalted butter cut into 1/4 inch cubes

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan

Scrub potatoes under running water to remove any dirt, if you feel like it. I am personally not opposed to eating some dirt from vegetables. Especially beets. Continuing on…

Drizzle olive oil and 1 tablespoon salt over the potatoes, coat well.

Bake in a 425°F oven for 1 hour until a knife is easily inserted in the center. Cool to room temperature.

Once cooled, make an oval incision in the top of each potato and remove the skin. The using a small spoon (preferably an actual teaspoon, which I didn’t have), scoop out all of the flesh of the potato and put into a stainless steel bowl. Be sure not to break through the skin when scooping.

To the bowl with the scooped out flesh, add sour cream, heavy cream, chives, truffle oil, and 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese.

Mix very gently until just blended so it doesn’t make the mixture pasty. Season with salt and pepper.

Carefully place the mixture back into the empty potato shells using the same small spoon as before. There will be excess so you can just pile it on top as I have done, if you like. Sprinkle the tops with 1/4 cup Parmesan and dot with the 1/4″ squares of butter.

You can complete these steps up to 12 hours in advance (great for Thanksgiving) and put the potatoes in the fridge until you’re ready. When that time comes, heat the oven to 425°F and place the potatoes in for 15 minutes until hot in the center and golden-y brown on the top. I forgot to take a picture of the golden-y brownness because I was so excited to eat it. Sorry.

Delicioso!

2 thoughts on “Truffle Twice-Baked Potatoes. To die for.

  1. The perfect side dish to a grilled steak. I love white truffle oil…it only takes a little to turn something ordinary into something extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

